Hooker Asafo Aumua in action for the Wellington Lions during their 2016 Mitre 10 Cup campaign. PHOTO: Dave Lintott Photography

Lions 2017 Mitre 10 Cup draw released

Family friendly afternoon kick-offs for Lions

08.03.2017

Five home games at Westpac Stadium including three family friendly afternoon kick offs are the feature of the Wellington Lions Mitre 10 Cup Championship draw for 2017.

The Lions home schedule includes a provincial derby match against Hawke's Bay and a showdown with reigning Mitre 10 Cup Premiership champions Canterbury, as well as matches against Taranaki, Otago and Northland.

The Canterbury, (Sunday, 4:35pm) Taranaki, (Saturday, 2:35pm), and Otago (Sunday, 2:35pm) matches will all be played in the afternoon.

New Lions head coach Chris Gibbes and his assistant Andre Bell will start their tenure with an away match against provincial neighbours Manawatu in Palmerston North on August 20.

The Lions cross over matches with Premiership teams include Taranaki, Canterbury, and Waikato in Hamilton.

The 2017 Mitre 10 Cup plays across nine weeks with every team playing one Wednesday night fixture in a double-up round where they play twice that week.

The semifinals will be played on October 20-21, with the Mitre 10 Cup Championship Final to be played on Friday, October 27 and the Mitre 10 Cup Premiership Final on Saturday October 28.


Wellington Lions 2017 Mitre 10 Cup Championship draw (home games in bold

Sunday, August 20, 4.35pm Manawatu v Wellington

Saturday, August 26, 2.35pm Wellington v Taranaki

Thursday, August 31, 7.35pm Bay of Plenty v Wellington

Wednesday, September 6, 7.35pm Wellington v Hawke's Bay

Sunday, September 17, 4.35pm Wellington v Canterbury

Saturday, September 23, 5.05pm Waikato v Wellington

Sunday, October 1, 2.35pm Wellington v Otago

Saturday, October 7, 7.35pm Southland v Wellington

Thursday, October 12, 7.35pm Wellington v Northland

SEMIFINALS: Friday, October 20 - Saturday, October 21

FINALS: Friday, October 27 and Saturday, October 28

Click here to view the Mitre 10 Cup draw.